Screen sharing


In the webinar dashboard choose "Open live webinar" to enter the webinar room.


Select screen sharing

In the webinar room click on the "Screen" icon underneath the video.

Next, choose what you’d like to share. There are 3 options: share the entire screen, share an app-screen, or a Chrome tab (available in Google Chrome version 72 or higher).

 

Your entire screen

Here you’ll be sharing your entire screen, which means everything you’ll see on your screen will also be visible to the viewer. When you’re using a dual screen setup (or more), select the screen you’d like to share and choose "Share".

 

App-screen

Here you’ll just be sharing a specific application, which means only this screen will be visible to the viewer.

Please note: You need to actively be using the screen, when the application isn’t opened on your computer, viewers will just see a black screen.

We advise you to use this option, which gives you more control and you’ll make sure you don’t show unwanted private information on the screen (by accident), for example new email notifications.

Please note: When you share a PowerPoint presentation using the app-screen share, and in use the presentation mode in your PowerPoint software, this will no longer be detected by the app-screen share and the viewers will see a black screen. That’s when full screen sharing mode comes in handy, instead of using the app-screen.

You can also upload your slides into WebinarGeek, which can be done by saving your PowerPoint presentation as an image (.png). Here you’ll find more information about this.

We advise you to use this option, which gives you more control and you’ll make sure you don’t show unwanted private information on the screen (by accident), for example new email notifications.

 

Chrome-tab

Here you’ll be sharing a specific Chrome tab, which makes only this tab will be visible to the viewer.


Stop screen sharing

During screen sharing, the viewers will see the screen you’re sharing. Your computer will notify you of this fact using a notification at the bottom of your screen. This notification can be "Hidden" to ensure it won’t be visible to the viewers. By clicking on "Stop screen share" the webinar will automatically revert back to the camera.

You have the ability to stop screen sharing by clicking on "Camera" in the live environment. As soon as the sharing stops, you’ll be back on screen. 


Using a single screen

When you connected a single screen to your computer, it often requires more practice to share your screen. You can’t see your webinar ánd your broadcast page (live environment) ánd the thing you’d want to share at the same time.

When you’re working with a single screen on your computer, a brief "loop" effect will occur for the viewer when you share your "Full screen". This means that you’ll be sharing your webinar broadcast page (live environment) in your webinar, which looks a little something like this:

When you see this on screen, you’re sharing the webinar broadcast page (live environment) yourself. When you’re seeing this, quickly display the screen you’d like to share. You won’t be able to see the webinar broadcast page (live environment) anymore in that case, but your viewers will see the right screen. This process will be much easier in a dual screen setup, read more about this below.


Using two screens (dual screen)

To make screen sharing even easier, the best thing you can do is using a dual screen setup (two monitors connected to the same computer).

The process is as follows:

  • On the first screen, open your WebinarGeek broadcast page (live environment).
  • On the second screen, open the thing you’d like to share (e.g. an app, website).
  • Start the screen share option and select screen 2 or an application opened on screen 2, so you’ll optimally use both screens at the same time

You’ll be able to see the webinar broadcast page (live environment) and you’re able to e.g. chat with viewers on the first screen, while you use the second screen to share the thing the viewers will see.


Tips for optimal quality

During screen sharing it’s even more essential to have a high quality PC setup, compared to sharing your camera. The video quality is dynamically calibrated to the computer’s CPU strength, the more "computing power" is available, the easier it will be to share a video in a higher quality.

To optimize screen sharing, you can apply the following tips:

  • Close all background software on your computer, make sure only WebinarGeek and the application you’d like to share are opened.
  • Change the screen resolution to 720 pixels in height (e.g. 1280x720 px). Your webinar is broadcasted using this resolution, so when the screen has the same resolution, there’s no need to crop or resize the screen. Read more about how to change monitor resolution here. After the webinar, you can change it back to normal.
  • Where possible, use the screen options to zoom in. Let’s say you share a website on a larger monitor. Maybe your viewer is watching from a much smaller screen, making the text hard to read. When you zoom in to make the website and text visible, it will be much clearer (Control/Command + , the "+" sign is a useful keybind for this purpose).
  • If the quality isn’t sufficient yet, you can change the video quality to "High (HD)" before going live. Do this by using the button "Camera and microphone settings". Please note, this asks more from your computer and internet connection, so make sure to test it beforehand.

Frequently asked questions

My screen is being repeated in the webinar screen, what causes this?

When you see this, you’re sharing the webinar screen itself. When you’re seeing this, simply display the screen you’d like to share. You won’t be able to see your webinar environment, but your viewers will see the right thing.

Am I able to see the webinar and the screen I’m sharing at the same time?

This is possible, when your using a dual screen setup. Check out the section "Using two screens (dual screen)" above on how to do set this up.

I want to share a website that doesn’t show up under "Applications".

When you want to share a website, make sure to do this in a new (Chrome) screen, and don’t do it in a new tab.


Still need help?

Please contact us, we are happy to help.

Chat with us