The viewing experience


System requirements

WebinarGeek is built in a way that allows to bring your webinar to the largest number of viewers possible, independent of viewer location and the type of device used when logging in. Check out the system requirements to see what’s needed (and what we recommend) for viewers to be able to follow the webinar with ease.


Before the webinar starts

The viewer can immediately click through to the webinar from the registration page or confirmation (or reminder) email. Viewers can also still register from the registration page during or right before the webinar (or using the registration embed). The viewer page (where the video is located) will open up 5 minutes before the starting time of the webinar. Before that time, viewers will end up in a virtual "waiting room" that counts down until the start of the webinar:

This waiting room can be edited according to your preferred layout under "Edit webinar" > "Registration" > "Options: Confirmation page". It’s also good to know that everything will be displayed for the viewer in the language you set during the creation of the webinar. When the viewer page eventually opens up, the viewers will be redirected to the viewing page waiting on the host to actually start the webinar:

The viewing page is optimized for different devices and browsers, if someone watched from a smartphone, the page will look different. For example, the chat will be located underneath the video instead of next to it:


Starting the webinar

As soon as a viewer opens the viewing screen, a small test happens behind the scenes to see of the browser allowed automatic playing of videos/the webinar. On mobile devices this isn’t allowed by default, for example. We will very clearly show those people a play-button on their screen. This button will have a subtle animation to attend the viewer action is required to start the webinar. Check out the image below for a visual:

Is the viewer not pressing play within a certain timeframe? A text will appear to attend the viewer again that the webinar should be started manually. This ‘warning’ message is displayed on the image below.


During the webinar

As soon as the webinar starts or will be started, the words "please wait" on the screen will be replaced by the webinar video.

If the viewer is experiencing problems, they have the option to click the link "Technical support" with support and information about how to best solve video or audio problems. This is a link where you can always redirect viewers to who have technical questions.

The viewer will always have access to the chat during the webinar (when enabled) and possible interactions that are started during the webinar will be automatically displayed under the video. The viewing page will also auto-scroll to these interactions, so people won’t be able to miss them:


Watching in full screen mode

As soon as the webinar started, viewers will see a button to open the webinar in full screen mode. This option ensures your camera, slides, and video injection (where relevant) will all be visible when using a larger screen. However, interactions and the chat won’t be visible in full screen mode.

However, when starting a new interaction (e.g. call to action, poll) or end the webinar, the full screen mode will be automatically closed for the viewer. This will ensure the viewer won’t miss anything you share with them. When the viewer wants to chat, he/she will manually close full screen mode (which is done using the same button or the Esc-hotkey).

Here, it’s important to note that full screen mode isn’t supported on Apple devices (iPhone, iPad etc.) and in Internet Explorer 10. For these viewers, the option won’t be visible.


After the webinar

As soon as the webinar ends, the webinar video will be replaced with a notification the webinar has ended. When you’ve set it up, the sales page (after the webinar page) and/or evaluation will be displayed for the viewer.

The webinar access ends after the webinar finished. Viewers that were already logged in, won’t be automatically logged out, which allows them to chat for a while after the webinar. Did you enable the webinar replay? Viewers that log in your webinar with their watch link will be automatically end up on the replay page to replay the webinar.


Behind the scenes: the technology

As soon as the webinar starts, our magic ensures the video and audio will sound great for all viewers. For each viewer, we analyse their individual circumstances and we serve them a "personalized" solution. For this, we analyse internet speed, the type of browser, as well as the processing power available on the computer. The viewers with optimal internet speed, a modern browser and a fast computer will directly be able to see the host and will always get high quality audio without delay.

For the other viewers, WebinarGeek will convert the video and audio behind the scenes in the appropriate formats and qualities, which (because of this) will be displayed with a minor delay. Delay in this case will mean, when the host says something on second 1, the viewer will see this on their screen after e.g. 15 seconds. The delay will be different for every viewer, and will normally never surpass 20 seconds. WebinarGeek ensures that all interactions (like call to actions, slides, videos) are displayed with a similar delay, so everything will be displayed on time. This way, everyone will have a similar webinar experience.

Finally, during every live webinar a recording is created in the highest quality, if you’d ever wish to offer the same webinar on-demand at a later point in time.


Want to know more about WebinarGeek?

Watch our getting started videos!

Help videos